Charlie, Sox and Beans (Oh my!!)

Hello!  My name is Avery.  I’ve been blogging for about ten years.  I keep a personal journal and have also written publicly, mostly about food.  My most recent blog was The Croissant Diet which was about my delicious adventures not only in New Jersey but in the surrounding areas as well as overseas.  My family has lived New Jersey for the past five years both in the southern part (Haddonfield – a suburb of Philly) and central Jersey (right outside of Princeton).  I sorta dropped off with posting last summer due to all of the craziness that was associated with my husband (Chris) looking for and eventually finding his new job here in Massachusetts.  It’s been a rough journey.  Even with the help of professional movers, the process stinks!  If you decided to click on my other blog link, you’ll notice that we left behind a pretty sweet life with lots of great family and friends.  I miss those places and faces but we’re all excited about exploring and staking out some new favorite spots here in Beantown.  Well, technically we’re in the suburbs but it’s much easier to place Boston (Bahston) than Arlington (Ahlington).  We’re about six miles outside of the city.

My daughter, Molly, is turning ten next month and she’s a pro at adapting to new surroundings.  She’s enjoying her new school and has already made some friends.  We have a Pug/Boston Terrier mix named Chowder (Chowdah) who really likes having a yard, even if it’s small.  Given his lineage and his name, he should feel right at home!

My favorite aspect of our new locale is the awesome public transportation.  We’re able to easily function with one car instead of two.  Chris drives to and from work in Billerica (they don’t pronounce the R) and I can get everywhere I need to go on the bus!  I have my Charlie Card and I love being able to sit back and let someone else navigate Massachusetts Avenue!

We’ve had a few culture shocks.  The most memorable was when we were shopping for furniture.  We went to Jordan’s which is this crazy super center that is obviously aimed at trying to make shopping for a new couch as family friendly as possible.  Jelly beans, ice cream, movies and even a trapeze where you can try your hand at jumping from a high platform and swinging back and fourth (No friggin’ way!).  There was a huge green monster in a Red Sox uniform that looked like it was busting through the wall next to the escalator.  His hand was clutching a Yankees player who was about to be dinner!  Coming from the land where the Yanks reign supreme, the flood of Sox fever is going to take some getting used to!  Molly, being the ever loving fan of Yankee’s baseball, was highly offended!  She does not hesitate to make it very clear where her loyalty lies!  Personally, I’m a Phillies fan so I don’t mind the Red Sox so much.

It’s exciting being a part of a major city scene again.  In New Jersey, we lived less than half of an hour from where George Washington crossed the Delaware River to surprise the British troops during the Revolutionary War so we’re no stranger to places with lots of local history.  It’s one of Molly’s favorite subjects in school and we’re planning on going on the Freedom Trail for her birthday later this month.  I’ll be blogging about our new surroundings as our life unfolds here in Massachusetts.

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

