For the Record

Today is the 5th annual Record Store Day!!  NPR has been giving this event a lot of love over the past few days.  The day has been getting lots of press and attention which makes me happy.  I don’t have a record player (I really want one though!) but I do still have an extensive CD collection.  I still relish fingering my way through rows and rows of music and trying to find a hidden gem.  It’s not a difficult thing since my musical tastes are all across the board.  There was a cool list of special edition vinyl releases that were reissued just for the occasion and a few of them were pretty drool worthy.  The new Danger Mouse project featuring Jack White and Norah Jones won’t be out until next month but there was a limited 45 out today.  I guess I’ll just have to wait a little bit longer!  I’m sure it will be worth it.  Danger Mouse produced a good chunk of my favorite music from the past decade and I absolutely adore Jack White so I’m pretty stoked!

We have a few local record stores around these parts but we decided to hit up the Burlington location of Newbury Comics.  This place is a nostalgic combination of a lot of the places I used to love to shop when I was younger and it’s quickly becoming one of Molly’s favorite places too.  They had a nice sale on their used CDs, vinyl and movies.  I got a copy of Kanye’s Graduation as well as Maxwell’s Urban Hang Suite.  I’ve really been on a R&B and soul kick lately.  I’ve checked out a few Erykah Badu albums from the library so I can build on my already extensive iTunes playlist.

A few other great places to shop for music around here: Cheapo Records in Cambridge is awesome.  The staff really does know their stuff.  Stereo Jack’s is another great destination.  I’d love to see these places survive for a long time.  Independent music, coffee and record stores are the coolest places on the planet.  Let’s keep them alive!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

