C is for Cookie

Today is Molly’s 10th birthday!!!  My household is buzzing with activity!  The inlaws are coming up from New Jersey tonight to spend the weekend with us and to celebrate.

I thought I had a brilliant idea when I decided to bake Oreos inside of brownies for her class.  I mean, it sounds good, right?  I don’t know exactly what went wrong but they were not cooperating by coming out of the pan intact.  Maybe I didn’t let them cool down long enough but I think I just didn’t spray the pan that well.  I informed Molly that the brownie prognosis wasn’t good.  I knew that I wasn’t going to be able to salvage them so I decided to throw in the towel and call in reinforcements when she told me that she wouldn’t mind some sort of cookie as a replacement.

We have a LOT of bakeries in the area.  Combine that with a Dunkin Donuts every half mile and I’m amazed that I haven’t gained 50 pounds since we moved here.  I’ve actually been very well behaved but that’s a post for another time!  I’d heard wonderful things about the cookies at Lakota Bakery so I decided to go for it since I had little to no time to waste this morning!  I’ve walked past it a few times since it’s close to the bus station in Arlington Heights so I already knew where it was.

Chris accompanied me and as soon as we walked in the door, we were immediately overwhelmed with their vast selection.  The cases feature nothing but cookies which is a refreshing change from cupcakes since they have really taken over in the past few years.  They even have macaroons!  Since my original plan featured Oreos, I was drawn to their appetizing range of sandwich cookies.  I decided to go with two and a half dozen of the chocolate cookie with vanilla filling.  I wanted to get a mix but it’s common wisdom when it comes to children to just get everyone the same thing.  Chris and I decided to share one on the way to Molly’s school and it was incredible.  I can’t wait to try some of the different flavors.

Lakota also makes cakes to order, when I was looking at the website, I saw that Lakota actually made a birthday cake for President Obama back in 2008!

If it’s good enough for the President, hopefully it was good enough for my daughter’s class!  Happy Birthday Molly Lucille!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

