Welcome Summer!

Summer is officially late to the party.  The festivities have started.  This reminds me of my friend Eliezer who thinks it would be awesome to throw a huge and amazing party that you invite everyone over for and then not show up just like The Great Gatsby.  I don’t think that’s going to happen.   Summer RSVP’d in advance.

In the meantime, we’ve started things off with some appetizers.  We’ve brought out sun, swimwear and sprinklers…

                              They’ve has gone over very well!!    We didn’t stop there….

We also have ladybugs!  And for dessert, I managed to score one more gorgeous peony.

We’re not really going to eat this.  We’re actually going to eat strawberry banana bread instead.

This is from Joy the Baker and if you click the picture, it will take you to the recipe!  I’ve made it a few times now so I figured it was worth mentioning!  It’s nice to have a good option to balance out all of the pumpkin bread I make in October.

A tray of cordials is about to come around in the form of chilled lemon+limeade.  Think of it as an apéritif.  

This batch was pretty pleasing.  I’ve made one other lemonade this year and I thought it was kinda weak.  I put more citrus into this blend and added some lime and it’s way better!  I’d say it was close to four of each plus a LOT of sugar :-).  That is about one liter and It was roughly 1 cup of citrus juice, at least 1 cup of simple syrup and top off with water.  If that sounds too sweet, cut it down to 3/4 cup and just add to taste.

I had to wait a day for the lemon+limeade to be ready because making simple syrup on the spot requires hot water so it needed to sit in the fridge and cool overnight.  I decided to make some extra to keep in the fridge.  It’s just 2 cups of hot water plus a cup of sugar.  All of this sounds like a lot of work but it really isn’t.  I promise.  Well, the lemon+limeade part isn’t.  I’ll admit that the breads took some effort.  I’ll warn you in advance!  It’s worth it though!

I’m probably coming across as annoyingly chipper but I’m just so happy for Summer to be here!  I think the town of Arlington is all going to come together, hold hands and sing the way the Whoville does on Christmas Day.   Winter was harsh.  We welcome the change of the season!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome Summer!

  1. Your post made me happy today. I love that you find joy in the simple things like I do 🙂 Your lemon/limeade looks wonderful. Yum!

  2. I’m totally ‘Gadsbying’ Birthdaween this year

Leave a Reply

