Party on Wayne!

Newbury Comics announced on their Facebook page yesterday that Wayne Coyne of the Flaming Lips would be making an in store appearance.  Actually, he made the announcement himself by video (see below).  They are playing in Boston tonight.  I wish I was going but, alas, it’s not meant to be.  I’m a huge fan and I’ve seen them 4 times already!  I’ve seen lots and lots of concerts but these guys take the cake every. single. time!  To top it off, Wayne Coyne is the nicest rock star you will ever share space with!  He loves his job and he loves his fans.  This was my second time meeting him and he was just as lovely as he was back in 2003 when I met him before an outdoor show in Nashville.  I’d just seen them for the first time at Bonnaroo and was absolutely blown away!

My friend Megan is also a big fan so when I texted her, she was all for taking the girls out to Harvard Square!  We went to Veggie Planet for dinner (awesome!) and headed over to Newbury Comics.  We’d stopped in earlier in the evening to get arm bands for the event and they had us line up in order of the number that we had.  We were pretty far back in line so we had to wait for a while!  It was all good though.  Another thing about the Flaming Lips, their fans are also awesome!  We had a great time hanging out with the people in line with us!  Molly and Josie were occupied for hours looking at all of the stuff and since they had a sale on used movies (buy one get one for a dollar), we let them pick out some goodies for being patient with our obsession!  When they got bored, they kept themselves busy making movies with Molly’s iPod Touch.  They occasionally snuck past Wayne’s table to oogle at him and take pictures….

Wayne took his time with each and every person who came to see him.  He came out from behind the table and put his arm around everyone who wanted a picture with him.  He signed everything that people had and chatted them up!  So patient and gracious!  I can’t say enough nice things about the guy!  As a result of him taking so much time, we stood in line for hours until it was finally our turn!  It was worth it though!

He was so sweet to the two of us.  He knelt down so he could be “on Molly’s level”.  I made a big Happy Birthday poster for my brother-in-law, Brian.  His big day is August 1st and he’s also a huge fan.  He’s probably seen them more times than I have but hasn’t met Wayne.

This was the last time I saw The Lips, almost two years ago with Brian at Festival Pier in Philadelphia.  As usual, it was awesome but we did get rained out that night.  There was lightning and it was pouring down so they had to cut off the concert about 2/3 of the way through.  Bummer!  It was still a blast (as you can see here!).  These guys know how to make an entrance!  When I am on my death bed, I want to watch this over and over again.  It’s especially fun to relive that moment right around the 7:30 mark.  Back in the day, Wayne used to pick people out in the audience and sing Happy Birthday to them.  When he got to the grand finale, blood would start pouring out of the top of his head!  The poster I made was a tribute to the good ol’ days!  He was more than happy to sign it and pose for a pic!

I know Brian will absolutely love this!!  🙂  I can’t wait to give it to him!  I also can’t wait until the next time I get to see The Flaming Lips in concert!  I am taking Molly with me!!!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

