Snail Mail & Yard Sales

We had to say Goodbye! to Shannon last week but she left me with a little present to enjoy…

Cheerwine!!  Unless you ever lived in Virginia or the Carolinas, you’ve probably never heard of this stuff.  It’s basically a cherry cola and it was my absolute favorite soft drink when I was a kid growing up in South Carolina.  If you don’t live in those parts and want to try some of this sugary goodness for yourself, head to the nearest Cracker Barrel!  She bought this for me when we stopped for dinner (in New York state) on the way back up from New Jersey.

One one of my favorite things to get from friends is cards or letters!  Who doesn’t love to get real mail?  I got two awesome deliveries from some special ladies.

This is from Ivonne.  How cool is this stationary?!  She and her family just made a huge move from San Diego to New Jersey and these are the cards she selected as change of address mailers.  It’s been a tough trip for her, so far, but I can’t help but be a little bit selfish cause I’m happy she’s closer.  We’ve been internetz friends for a while and it will be fun to be able to hang out more often.

The second announcement was a special delivery indeed!  I’ve known my friend Laura since we were a few years older than Molly.  Last month, she and her husband, Doug, welcomed their children into the world.  Meet my Godchildren!!!

This is Gavin and Kaitlyn!!  Aren’t they precious?!  I love them so much already and I can’t wait to meet them in person!  I’m hoping to be able to make a trip to Illinois soon!

In the meantime, I made a trip over to Union Square this past weekend for the Rock n Roll Yard Sale!  It’s associated with a similar and bigger event in Providence.  I’ll be making plenty of road trips in the next few months so I was glad to be able to just hop on the bus and head a few miles over to check this out.  I didn’t have my camera with me so I snapped a few pictures of my treasure that I found.  I didn’t buy any music.  There were also craft and vintage vendors so I went that direction with my allowance.  I was drooling over a gorgeous Cure t-shirt from the Disintegration tour but I didn’t have $45 to spend on it.  I did score a new addition to my vintage hat collection…

I also have new glasses.  My old ones were broken and I had to tape them together so I could wear them!  These new ones are a bit stronger (I’m getting old!) but they feel great.  My optometrist was also great.  If you’re a local and need an eye exam, I cannot recommend John Archibald highly enough!

My last score came from the same vendor and it’s something I’ve been wanting for a long time!  I was so happy to finally get my hands on a vintage enamel bowl.

It’s in pristine condition!!!  I love enamelware.  I’ve been searching for a piece like this for years.  The asking price was $20 and that was exactly how much I had on me.  When I mentioned how much I also loved the hat (priced at $10), she threw it in!!!  I was super stoked!  Go to her Etsy site and give her some love!  She has a lot of great things and her prices are very reasonable.

Okay, I’d better get back to cleaning my house now!  I’m trying to figure out where to put my new bowl!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Snail Mail & Yard Sales

  1. ivonne says:

    glad you liked it. I loved that set of postcards, it seemed only fitting.

Leave a Reply

