Out and About

Can you believe that October is almost halfway over?  I’m glad that I’ve set up my Halloween village but I really have dropped the ball on decorating the rest of the house.  I’m holding out for a few days before Halloween to hang up some outdoor decor due to concerns about the weather as well as rogue wildlife munching on our pumpkins.  I can recall when we lived outside of Princeton, New Jersey and seeing the big bites that had been taken out of porch pumpkins while driving to work in the fall.  Deer love them!  Evidently, they come around these parts as well so I’m not taking chances!  As for the inside of my house, I’m taking today to clean the heck out of it and then I will put up some more Halloween stuff.  I’ve already found my favorite decorations, including some things that Molly made in Kindergarten and first grade that I’ve done my best to save.

In defense of my slacking, I must add that we did get outdoor mums this year.  I always love seeing them and so we finally decided to get some for the front porch.  We even have some little creatures peeking out from behind the blossoms.  The plants seem to be doing well and I hope that I can keep them alive.  I wanted to go to an orchard.  Again with the Princeton memories, we always used to go to Terhune’s Orchard which is a beautiful farm.  Since we live so close to the city, unlike the deer, orchards are a bit removed from us.  We went to Wilson’s Farm after a decision that felt like a settlement.  Once we got there, I was happy to see that the autumn traditions that I was used to were all available here!  There were even hayrides and cider donuts.  I definitely want to come back with Molly, and probably Josie, for a haunted hayride and a hot cider!

In the meantime, we took advantage of a special offer that popped up on my radar over the long weekend.  The Isabella Stewart Gardner Museum celebrated their 10th annual “Opening Our Doors” with free admission!  I’ve been wanting to go here since we moved and what better reason to finally make the trip?!  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to take pictures inside of the museum.  It was absolutely breathtaking!  The plain exterior completely betrays the majesty that awaits from within!

There were musicians playing in the courtyard that were accompanied by glorious sunlight that cascaded through the glass ceilings.  While we wandered through the impeccably decorated rooms full of priceless treasures, my senses were completely blissed out.  The flow of certain areas has been interrupted by renovations.  I can’t wait to see what it will all look like upon completion.  I’ll most likely acquire membership to the museum when they’re done.  They regularly feature area jazz musicians in the courtyard and I want a piece of that action.

Did you notice Molly’s haircut in the pic?  That’s one more thing we did over the weekend!  She’s never had it this short and she hasn’t had bangs since she was 4.   I knew she’d be happy to have it short although she was initially hesitant to take the plunge.  As for me, I am bowled over by the cute which is helping to ease the very high possibility that the days of making two braids every morning may very well be behind us.

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Out and About

  1. Pascale says:

    Thank you to visiting my blog

  2. Amy says:

    Wow…Autumn is SO much different on the East coast than it is here in AZ! I miss living somewhere that has significant season changes, but after nearly a decade I’ve grown to call this heat-infested valley “home.” You know who else likes pumpkins? Big cats! Like lions and tigers. Not sure if little cats have an interest…we didn’t do pumpkins this year so there was no chance for experimentation (We have, um….7 cats). This is the first of your blog posts I’ve read, so obviously I don’t know Molly at all, but I just have to say kudos to her for the short hair! I had short hair when I was her age and I know that’s a bit of an anomaly. It’s the greatest feeling though…no more tangles, no more struggling with mom in the mornings before school, no more braids!

    I wish you all the best in your adventures in Boston and look forward to reading more.

    • schlagblog says:

      Thanks so much! I have a friend who lives in Arizona and another friend who is an artist that adores Sedona so much, she has planned two different workshops there in the past year. I hear it’s absolutely beautiful. I’ve not spent much time out west aside from a few trips to California.

      I had no idea about the big cats and pumpkins but my dog, Chowder, LOVES canned pumpkin! 😉

      Molly is absolutely loving the short hair! I have to admit that I enjoy having one less thing to do in the morning!

Leave a Reply

