Diary of a Wild Woman

This past weekend was wonderfully low key.  Molly had a sleepover at Josie’s and they drove down with Megan to the Jack-O-Lantern Spectacular in Providence.

The website looks amazing and Molly can testify that it was super awesome.  Her only lament was that no one jumps out, screams in your face and chases you around.  She has a hankering for the hardcore haunted houses that I avoid at all costs!  She and Chris might hit up something around here within the next few weeks while I sit at home and watch Casper (I prefer my ghosts to be on the friendly side).

While Molly was gazing upon intricately carved pumpkins, the rest of us relaxed at home.  We ate breakfast off of our “Chowder plates”.  There is something exciting happening in this picture.  We got a kombucha mother from Eliezer the last time we were in New Jersey and managed to brew a successful batch!  Not all of it managed to score some bubbles but this one bottle turned out really well!  It rivaled anything you could buy at Whole Foods.  I’ll blog more about the process once we get a solid technique.

Speaking of Chowder, we enjoy taking him on extra long walks on the weekend.  He absolutely loves it.  The weather was gorgeous so it was a very pleasurable experience.  My weekend didn’t get much more riveting than this.  The proof is in the pudding…

…Rice pudding.  I’ve always wanted to make some from scratch so I attempted it this weekend.  It turned out pretty well thanks to a phone call from my friend, Ashley.  She was kind enough to offer up some advice.  I want to tweak it a little bit and then I’ll post a recipe.  That’s two that I’ve promised you now.

I also planted some bulbs which is something else that I’ve been itching to do.  Molly helped me out which was lovely.  These little guys will hopefully yield some crocus blossoms next spring.  They are tiny and adorable and I have some very small vases that will be perfect for them.  We also planted a few tulips.

We’re starting to see some really nice colors around here.  Many of the trees are still holding out so the next few weeks should be spectacular!  I’ll try to make the next post a little more exciting!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

