Birthday Bites

I’ve lived in many different towns and cities up and down from the east coast to the southeast.  Like most people, I have a tendency to get emotionally attached to certain foods that are available close to home.  When I visit Alabama or Georgia, I have a small list of places where I simply have to dine out.  If I’m anywhere below the Mason Dixon line, it’s mandatory to hit up a Waffle House!  I also have New Jersey cravings that must be satiated when we visit family and friends there.  My favorite ice cream place, bagels, pizza and my mother-in-law’s spaghetti sauce!

We’ve been in Massachusetts for almost a year.  I realized this week that I already have some sentimental edibles.  Yesterday was my birthday and, aside from the humbling outpouring of love from people I deeply care about, it was a great day because I ate a few of my favorite things in Boston!

Chris offered to take me out for breakfast.  It was, of course, up to me to decide where to go.  Over the weekend, we went to a new bakery that opened up in Somerville called 3 Little Figs.  I enjoyed it so much that I told him I wanted to go back!  3 Little Figs is a Greek inspired boutique bakery.  The interior feels fresh and lovely when you walk through the door and the goodies are just as welcoming as the people behind the counter.  I heard about it a few weeks ago and when I found out that they were finally open, I was bursting to go!

One of my new absolute favorite things is the Lady Lavender Biscuit.  I complained to more than one person while I was living in New Jersey about how difficult it was to find a decent biscuit on the east coast.  This is a dreamy update to a classic southern comfort.  3 Little Figs has a lovely assortment of baked goods but it will be difficult to stray from this treasure.

I had the egg and feta sandwich for breakfast yesterday morning and I had to get a lavender biscuit to go so I could enjoy it later!  Their scones, muffins and biscuits are so reasonably priced that it doesn’t break to bank to take home a little souvenir.  🙂

Both of us went to work after we got home from our breakfast date.  It’s Clover tradition to serve cupcakes when an employee has a birthday.  My coworker, Bridget, made super awesome ones for me!   She went to culinary school and is a confectionary wizard!

Feast your eyes!  Mexican chocolate cupcakes with a cinnamon icing and homemade cinnamon/sugar tortilla strips!   They tasted even better than they look!  I was so honored!   This was the second best birthday dessert I ever had!  First place goes to my friend, Claire.  She and her family live close to my parents in Georgia.  It was probably six or seven years ago and she saw an elderly woman selling homemade cakes.  She bought me a caramel cake with four beautiful layers!  I ate almost that entire thing over the course of a few days.

The truck where I work is parked near two other food trucks, Bon Me and Momogoose.  We’re basically a mobile food court!  I always get my Clover lunch for free after my shift but I decided to treat myself to some Bon Me.  A proper Bahn Mi is a Vietnamese sammich filled with pickled veggies such as carrot and daikon, mayo and something for spice such as Sriracha.  Bon Me has a tofu and shitake version that knocks my socks off.  Evidently, I’m not the only one.  Bahn Mi has quite the cult following.

I spent most of the day eating out so dinner was a nice exception.  Chris offered to make me dinner.  He said I could pick something and he would cook it.  Chris doesn’t cook often but he is very good at following a recipe.  It took me a bit of time to decide on something.  I was reading an article about fall and soups and this cream of mushroom one looked mighty fine.  I asked him to make it and he did!  We made a few subs.  Veggie stock for chicken stock and since we didn’t have cognac, we used dark beer.  It was so delicious!!  I hope that he doesn’t wait until my next birthday to make it again!

Overall, my birthday was great!  Sweet in more ways than one.  I’m an incredibly lucky lady!  This next trip around the sun couldn’t have started off any better!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Birthday Bites

  1. Yummy!
    I’m hungry now.

  2. Well then, Happy Birthday ☻

    And thankyou for the post-like. May I ask where you came accross my blog?

    -Spencer Bethany Alto

  3. makeitgiveit says:

    hanks for visiting my blog – I LOVE having special foodie places to visit and I love the cupcake tradition that is cool

Leave a Reply

