11/11/11

We had to get up early this morning to get Molly to a drum and fife event in Malden, MA.  She is part of the William Diamond Junior Drum and Fife Corp in Lexington and they were marching in the Veterans Day Parade.

It’s always incredibly humbling for me to be in the company of elderly veterans.  God knows what those brave men and women have been through, seen and lost.   I have nothing but respect for them.

Both of my grandfathers served.  My Grandpa on my father’s side passed away when I was a little younger than Molly.  He died of lymphoma as a direct result of being exposed to Agent Orange.  He was only 58 years old.

My Opa just turned 84.  He served for 32 years in the United States Air Force.  He was in Korea and Vietnam.  As he has gotten older, he has been a bit more open with his life and what he has been through as a result of war.  He protected us all from the Hell he lived through when I was young.  It has been a factor in most of his life.  WWII in Germany as a boy, Korea, Vietnam….  He is a flight instructor for American Airlines and the plane that went into the second tower on 9/11/01 was piloted by a student of his.  I’m incredibly proud of both of them as well as the other members of my family who have served and are currently serving.  We all know and love a veteran.  I’d like to think that one of these days, they’ll no longer exist because there won’t be any more wars.

In the meantime, I’d like to take a moment to offer my sincere appreciation to all of our veterans, young and old.  They give true meaning to “Home of the Brave” and we would not be the “Land of the Free” without them.  God bless all of you and your families as well.  Thank you.

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

