Ketchup and Pickles

That’s what this post is all about.  Don’t let Pulp Fiction get your hopes up.  I can’t promise you too much excitement.  You’ve been warned!

2012 has been slow and hectic at the same time.  My hours have picked up at work so we’ve all had to make some adjustments.  I won’t bore you with them.  The big adjustment we’ve all had to make is the funky weather!  It feels like Spring one day and then plummets down to 7 degrees at night.

Chowder was under the weather.  Look at how pitiful he was!  The vet suspects that it was a pulled muscle.  This isn’t the first time it has happened.  I’m happy to report that he’s right as rain again.  This morning he was doing his post walk sprints back and forth on the walkway at the side of the house.  That’s always a good sign.  All of us are horribly distraught when the dog is not well so it was a big deal!

I’ve had to get out of the red with quite a bit of work around the house.  I had two big jobs.  The first was to tackle the unholy mess in Molly’s room.  This is the after picture.  I wasn’t about to scar you for life by posting the state it was in before.  The second task was to take down and put away our Christmas decorations.   I knew it would take hours so I forced myself to commit a chunk of my Saturday and get it done.  I’m happy for the days to be getting longer because I miss the light.

I’ll make this a little more Bostony by posting about these pickled green tomatoes.   Grillo’s Pickles just opened up a small space next to where I work and their stuff is awesome.  I ate a few of the tomatoes with my red beans and rice the other night and it was a sassy southern/creole partay.  Lemme tell you, these bad boys are juicy!  I can’t wait to try some more of their stuff.  I definitely want to fry something!

The other relevant local thing is sort of silly.  I was at least 1/4 of the way convinced that  I saw Mindy Kaling over the weekend.  It’s doubtful but totally possible since she grew up around here and her parents still live here.  While we’re on the subject, if any of you are looking for an enjoyable read that has a lot of substance without being heavy, I am absolutely loving her book!

I’d say that’s a reasonable summary of my year, so far!  There are a few things on the horizon that will hopefully provide for more exciting material.

BTW: How ’bout them Patriots!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

