She’s a Biggun

East Coasters, I hope you’re all taking proper precautions for Hurricane Sandy, this storm is massive.

– They are closing the MBTA at 2:00 this afternoon.  Good luck to all of you who have to get home from work.

– There is lots of information and links on Mayor Tom Menino’s Twitter.

– More Twitter: City of Boston and Somerville

– Ready.gov’s official Hurricane Preparedness website.  Does it get more official than this?  Okay, here’s FEMA too.

– Have pets?  Here are some helpful prep tips plus, some useful advice for when the storm hits.

– Can I steal power from my car if my electric goes out?

Feed your family during a storm related power outage.  Here’s another good article.  It takes reader suggestions into account so there is a nice bundle of ideas.

– I saw this article on Yahoo! today and thought it had some useful tips for riding out the storm.  Great tips on perishable food.

111 indoor activities to keep your kids busy during nasty weather.

– In the path of a major storm?  There’s an app for that!

State by state rundown.  If you have internetz, here’s another weather link.  Want webcams?  Okay!  Here’s one perched on top of the Statue of Liberty.

– I keep putting off ordering this bad boy but I did it today!  I’ll be more prepared for the NEXT round of serious weather.  I do have a radio and batteries.  Here’s another article on ways to prepare to ride out a serious storm.

Meanwhile, we’re chilling at home.  They closed down the schools so Molly and I have been here.  I have some warm soup in the crock pot and we have a few cases of water and stuff to make pb&j sammiches if we lose power.  My phone is charged and I’m trying not to be too nervous.  We moved some supplies downstairs into my landlord’s basement apartment.  She lives in Greece so she isn’t down there right now.  We have the key and decided it wouldn’t be a terrible idea to have a plan of action.

Stay safe, everyone!

About suthrncan

Southern girl who loves travel, farms, markets, bourbon, food trucks and a good cup of coffee!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

